dissimilarity in the organization of local government across the country. This stems not only from the difference in beginnings and subsequent independent growth in each province, but also from variations in requirements arising out of geographical and population differences.

The situation remains in a state of flux, with constant amendment of provincial Acts and charters in an attempt to solve old problems and to meet new ones. Just as the call for new and additional services has enlarged the scope of federal and provincial activities, the municipalities have had to assume responsibilities unheard of a few decades ago, or considered beyond their sphere of activity. As a result, amendments to Acts have varied from those enlarging the powers and the boundaries of municipalities, to those establishing closer provincial control and greater financial aid.

An outline of municipal organization at the end of 1951 in each of the provinces of Canada is given in the following paragraphs.*

Newfoundland.—Newfoundland has only one city, St. John's. The remainder of the population is mostly dispersed in small settlements along the coast, and only since 1937 have a few of the larger of these been set up individually with local councils as towns or, where two or three are close together, as rural districts (30 in 1951). These latter are not rural municipalities but merely towns consisting of two or more settlements. Local affairs in the remainder of the Province are administered by the Provincial Government. In 1949 the Local Government Act was passed to facilitate incorporations.

Prince Edward Island.—The City of Charlottetown and seven towns, all incorporated by special Acts, comprise the total municipal organization in Prince Edward Island. They include less than one-half of one percent of its total area and only one-quarter of its population. The remainder of the population is not organized municipally, as the three counties are purely provincial administrative units.

Nova Scotia.—Municipal organization in Nova Scotia covers the whole of the Province. Halifax and Sydney are the only cities and they operate under special charters, the latter also governed by some special legislation. Towns, which number 40, operate under the Town Incorporation Act. There are no municipalities incorporated as villages. Cities and towns are independent of counties. The rural area is divided into 18 counties which, in themselves, do not represent units of local government. However, 12 of these counties each comprise one municipality, and the other six, two municipalities each, making a total of 24 rural municipalities.

New Brunswick.—The Province is divided into 15 counties which are incorporated municipalities and have direct powers of local self-government in the rural areas. In effect, therefore, they are rural municipalities. In most cases certain of their powers apply in both rural and urban municipalities. The three cities of Saint John, Fredericton and Moncton have special charters, and the 19 towns . operate under the Towns Incorporation Act. There are also four villages and 37 local improvement districts.

Quebec.—Municipal divisions in Quebec embrace the more thickly settled areas comprising about one-third of the Province, the remainder being governed by the Province as 'territories'. The organized area is divided into 76 county munici-

Municipalities are summarized by type of organization on p. 80.